A blast from the past – those girlfriends

What better month to write a post about girlfriends than this one??

My very early dogpals will remember when I had a lot of girlfriends, and at one point I had a rather nice reputation as a Casanova of the Dogs with Blogs world.

But these days my double-figure list of girlfriends is very depleted. Some of my favourite ones have sadly gone to the bridge, others have stopped blogging – and – a couple even had the cheek to ditch me. Said they wanted a younger dog!! or one who only wanted one girlfriend.

Anyway, lo and behold, who was the first dog to comment on my last post? The wonderful Sophie La Flirtador, aka Sophie Brador, or Sophie La Brador. Take your pick.

And what did she do when she commented? That’s right. Complained. She complained that even though she hadn’t blogged like for nearly two years, she expected to be on my new useless WP blogroll. There’s no pleasing some girlfriend is there, so if you look at my blogroll, and see a lot of Sophies – they are all her.

Sophie was one of the leading ladies in my film. Well, I didn’t actually get to make the film, but we had got the plot pretty well sussed, and lots of character roles and all sorts. Anyway, for anyone who doesn’t remember it, or hasn’t read about it (even Misery and I had forgotten half of it) – here is a link.

Four years ago - another hard day working on the movie project

I think maybe I shall revive it. I can put some new characters in it. I am sure Africa, Arie, Ciara, Fab Flo, Georgia, and Nala, to name but a few potential stars, would guarantee sales.

We need to think about this seriously Misery. No taking your eye off the ball this time!

We’ll obviously have to include the Budapest detour now, for Asta, rather than NY, but that’s no problem, it’s probably the nearest place to me.

Then there are other new friends like Ruger, Rumpydog, Bongodog and Ralph the big dog, and, Phantom, Thunder and young Lightning to keep an eye on Ciara. Of course, I’ve just remembered, Tommy in France is the very nearest pup to me, so he definitely needs to be in.

At the time JB was the only cat in there, but there are all the lovely Chans who live with Tommy, and maybe a horse would be fun if Vidock was willing? And my other new cat pal, Cat Mandu, may want to purrowl around the place.

Anyone interested in being a filmstar, just leave me a note with your preferred type of role and we’ll put something together.

On a sadder note (for me), the former Casanova fared very badly at trying to take Mayzie to the Valentine Ball. Boooo hooooo! along with my pal Monty and one other, I got the lowest number of votes. I suspect that could be because Misery voted for the donkey instead of me. He was rather handsome, stiff opposition there.

Now, it may be Valentine’s month, but it is also Leap Year, when lovely pups can ask their boyfriends to marry them. Four years ago Sophie gave me a half-hearted proposal. This was on the lines of, ‘well you would be ok I suppose if I had to, but I’m independent so let’s leave things as they are’. I barks at you, how to hurt a dog’s heart.

However, I have higher hopes this year in my girlfriend Skye (who absolutely will get a starring role in the next version of the film). And if anyone else wants to ask me, that would be great too because – you don’t have to mean it, I’m too old and set in my ways to get married – I just want to be asked.

Note to Misery: DON’T forget to buy Skye’s Valentine card. And remember it has to get to America.

So much to think about .......

.... Girlfriends, Valentine's Day, rejections, proposals, movie screenplay ....

I think we'll take a break, I'm tired after all that thinking

Oh and today’s Blogger or WordPress comment is about spam.

Some time ago, a lot of us Bloggers were inundated with endless spam written in strange characters. Pippa the linguist thought it was Chinese, Misery isn’t sure. Most of it was asking us to buy medical stuff for male persons who had er – well – the sort of problems a dog with lots of girlfriends doesn’t have. (That’s why I thought it was a relevant topic to go with my girlfriend post).

Anyway Blogger sorted it out, and it stopped and as far as I have seen there has been little spam filtering through on Blogger.

WP has an interesting spam setting though. It uses something called Akismet whatever that is, but you can set it to accept or reject a certain number of links. I think that is really clever. If someone is spamming your posts and including an advertising link on their signature – they don’t get through. Very big PippaPaw up for that one. I won’t name and shame, but I’m not advertising dog fences for nothing on my blog (I probably wouldn’t do it for those inedible paper notes either).

If you want to read more, I have written an Advertising Policy up at the top, which is basically a no-advertising policy.

And final comment on spam – both Blogger and WordPress seem pretty good at filtering it out these days, but WP steals the edge with its settings regarding links. A narrow win there for WP.

29 comments on “A blast from the past – those girlfriends

  1. Wow, Ciara is strutting around here so very impressed that her name appeared on your list of potential stars. But she wants you to know that SHE is the one who has to keep an eye on those brothers of hers, especially the pipsqueak Lightning – he thinks he is the boss of all of us.

    We aren’t sure we know who Skye is – is she from Moondance Huskies? If so, you have made a great choice.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

    • pippadogblog says:

      Ciara is so beautiful she would be an asset in any film. I can understand her keeping an eye on the bros too, I am sure any pup would be happy to have Ciara in charge.

      Yes Skye is Moondance Husky Skye. She has such a lovely temperament and is beautiful too – what more could a dog want?

  2. Bongo says:

    I don’t care what role I play in your film as long as I get to kiss all the cute girls.

  3. Pippa, how do you handle so many girlfriends? Or have time for them all? You are a star.

    • pippadogblog says:

      Hmmm, I don’t have so many any more. Maybe that’s a good thing because I could never remember them all before anyway and I had to get Misery to write out a list of them for me πŸ˜€

  4. Dear Pippa, here is my resume.

    I am a BigDog (not fat), and am very used to being in front of a camera. I have some distinguishing features like a white eye, a faux hawk (only in winter) and whiskers on my chin (which surely is quite unusual for A Lady). I take direction quite well and will work for few dog biscuits (lowfat please) and /or liver treats (preferably homemade).

    I have read your original script. It is very complicated and obviously one of those movies that will require people to sit to the end (unlike most Hollywood productions). I believe I will fit any part that requires eating. I do NOT do love scenes.

    I hope to hear from you soon with some good news! Regards, Georgia Little Pea Ratatouille.

    P.S. Please contact my agent The Typist if you need more information. I might also mention that I will not need to glamourise my name. As you can see, it is already billboard ready.

    • pippadogblog says:

      Oh Georgia, I didn’t need a resume to include you, but thank you so much for writing it, it makes it so much easier to work out a special role for you. I am, however, disappointed that you don’t do love scenes. What a loss. I think perhaps you may wish to join the plot as a distinguished and famous food critic, which will mean of course that you will get extra special treats and meals (all for free of course), and everyone will be fawning all over you, although you may get sick of that.

      Now regarding your name, it is rather good. I myself always think of you as georgia sweet pea, although one does not eat sweet peas and one does eat nommy raw little peas and ratatouille. So I guess we will stick with it as it is, even though I shall still secretly think of you as Sweet Pea.

      Thank you again for your application and your interest. I will liaise with your agent, The Typist.

      Regards

      Pippa

  5. Ralph says:

    Hi Pippa:

    Thanks for the mention in your blog (even though I’m not a girl). I’d definitely go see any movie you made that had lots of girls in them. You can even borrow some of my girlfriends.

    Big Dog Ralph

    • pippadogblog says:

      Ralph, thank you for the vote of confidence. But I was rather hoping your handsome self would actually be in the film. I would have thought you would be a magnet for some of the above girlfriends. Maybe a small cameo role if you don’t want a leading one??

  6. A note from My Typist – just read the link you sent. Thanks! Ticks are horrid. You would remember from your Sydney days that all it takes is one to kill!

    Being pharmaceutically challenged (unlike Pippa), I can’t remember if I’ve ever tried those particular creams though we have a couple in the cupboard as well. These days, unless her skin is bad, I just hose her down after her walks, and have totally changed her diet to be homemade with just a bit of organic kib. Helps a lot! Strangely, Cephalexin was the antibiotic that the vet prescribed on Tuesday but she couldn’t tolerate it snd chucked up yesterday morning, and is now on something else.

    Sorry to comment here…so unrelated to your story! That Pippa is a Casanova alright. Must be the steamy Spanish sun lol x

    • pippadogblog says:

      Thanks to your Typist for that GLP(R).

      I have to say the only reason I am up on the pharmas is that it is one of Misery’s few useful attributes. She knew nothing about them – except to avoid them, even for headaches – but she learned a little bit about them in her years in the NHS. Bit difficult not to really.

      I didn’t have many cephals – just a few, and they went down very nicely with a few treats, and never came back up. Need to watch those drugs though and always check for side-effects (I learned that from Misery too) – it’s the first thing we look up. We are happy to bore for Gib and Spain on druggy stuff, but hopefully won’t have too much opportunity in the future if I don’t need to visit Dr Pedro.

      Doesn’t matter whether it is related in my dogopinion. It’s the current post, so that makes life easy. Misery is always commenting out of the box. Haha that was funny πŸ˜€

  7. Cleo says:

    hey pippa…

    am loving the new blog…:)

    Cleo xxx

  8. pippadogblog says:

    Thank you Cleo πŸ™‚

  9. Jb says:

    I still think I should be in the movie. I think I should be the best cat actress and get an oscar or golden salmon . As far as girlfriends go, I always thought you had too many. What a dog you were!
    -JB

    • pippadogblog says:

      I think you should be in too. I’m not sure we can agree on awards before you have actually done anything though. You can have an oscar if you are good, don’t forget Misery is vegetarian, even though you are not. That should keep you both happy.

      We found a list where I had 31!! Girlfriends I mean. ‘What a dog you were!’ I am still the same dog you know 😦 Just seem to have lost track of the girlfriends. Worse than herding cats. πŸ™‚

  10. Such a romantikh fur-ella!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

    • pippadogblog says:

      Khyra – I realised I hadn’t included you, and then I remembered that you were never on my official list of girlfriends, I suspect I never dared to ask you.

  11. well girlfriends …..even the thought of them kind of exhaust me…..all that sniffing and prancing, and rolling about. However, C.A.T.S and the mere mention rather excite the parts Girlfriends don’t reach dearest Pipparoonie!

    I have a photo of a C.A.T. on my latest post who may qualify for your movie/or as we quaintly call it here in bonnie Scotland, a fillim. She may qualify for an acting part in a horror movie though, such is her rather frightening persona, or as my J is want to say, her horrific personage.

    Mucho Grasses, and snifferoonies, your erstwhile Pal, Marvin xxxxxx

    • pippadogblog says:

      Thank you for you generous offer of foisting off your local unwanted cat onto my film, but I wouldn’t want you to be deprived of the little monster, so I shall regretfully decline.

      You do remember you agreed to be Best Boy don’t you??

  12. er, Cassandra Vale did not comment……it was me, the Marvin Meister. However, She Who Must Not Be Obeyed cannot work out how to comment via WordPress as Me, Marvin The Hollow Hound, or herself as one of her many nomaclatures.

    I think she has also not only lost her marbles, but forgotten how to spell.

    Marv xx

    • pippadogblog says:

      It’s OK Marvin, I didn’t really think Cassandra would be writing about sniffing, prancing and rolling about with her girlfriends πŸ™‚ so I figured out it was you.

      • pippadogblog says:

        Oh and I will get Misery to log us out and check what needs to be done for you to log in as Marvin and not CV. After all, I don’t need your CV as I am well acquainted with your accomplishments over the years πŸ˜‰

        • pippadogblog says:

          There you go Marv, hope this helps realign CV’s marbles:

          It’s a bit hard to say without knowing what form you see but……

          there may be three lines yes?

          email (required)

          name (required)

          Website

          Now, I’ve set it not to require email so that shouldn’t be coming up, but if it is then I am sorry about that. It may be a default setting for non-WP people that can’t be over-ridden.

          Under name – you put your name, yes? Marvin, hollow hound, or best boy, or cat lover extraordinaire, or whatever

          And then under website you write http://marvinhollowhound or whatever it is.

          Easy huh? Let me know if you sort it out. Well, I guess I will see won’t I?

  13. My Darling Pippa,
    I gladly accept a role in your movie and I will certainly do a love scene with you! XXXOOO
    OK, it is a leap year so I can do this…Pippa, will you marry me? I know you said you would just like to be asked and I am happy to ask you πŸ˜€ I always love seeing pictures of you in your favorite spots and in such great positions!

    all my love,
    your Skye

    • Pippadogblog says:

      Oh Skye

      My little Pippaheart is fluttering like mad, I need to lie down. Thank you so much.

      Pippa xxxx Totally barkless

Thank you for any comment. Please check back next time you visit, as I like to reply to all barks, woos, and mews

