Pippa’s annual review of 2011 (eventually)

Here we go, sneaking this one in before the end of January.

Well, as older (as in long-standing not ancient and decrepit) pup pals know, this time last year I was glad to be alive. Before Christmas I suddenly became poorly and was rushed off to see my lovely vet, Dr Pedro.

He suspected I had tick disease. There are lots of ticks in my Spanish village because of all the animals, and the lab results confirmed I had canine erlichiosis. Misery wrote an extremely long post about it on her blog which I will add to a new health page when I get her to set it up.

But I perked up with some strong painkillers and some anti-biotics and felt ok again after a few weeks. Phew. Although then I developed a couple of nasty sores. Thanks to all my pals who continued to ask after my health last year.

Feeling better in my spinach patch (despite my icky sore on my leg)

On the domestic front I discovered scrambled eggs on toast – big PippaPaw up for that one – and my sofa kept being stolen by lazy people who wanted to lie on it.

Demanding my scrambled eggs

Back at the finca, a C.A.T attacked me and left a present of claw stuck in my nose. Nasty cat. There was also a new pup on the block who wanted to come and say hello to me. I like puppies so I had no worries about that. But Misery took one look at its little tiny nose and screamed at it to ‘Go Away!’ because it was crawling with ticks. We’d had enough tick scares without going looking for the little monsters.

My snose - covered in Betadine antiseptic

It seemed to be my year for keeping Dr Pedro in dog biscuits or whatever he eats because we went back to see him in summer when I had some more nasty sores. And then, we went again in autumn when I started limping with a pawly paw. More painkillers. (More posts to be copied to the as yet non-existent health page although it is all on the old blog).

A couple of sad pieces of news – my beautiful girlfriend Mati went to the bridge in summer. I was very fond of her and her bro Rocky (who had gone to the bridge before her), so I was upset about that.

And later in the year, in autumn, sweet Claudette died. Those of you who know me from my Blogger days will know Claudette of course who homed a number of rescue dogs. But for friends who don’t, she had lung cancer, and in spite of pain, the arduous treatment, and gloomy prognosis, she never failed to meet every day with dignity, courage, and a unique sense of humour. She is missed by us all.

Then at the beginning of December, Blogger got the PippaPaw down for accusing me of unusual activity on my blog. So I moved. And here I am. Oh and at some point I got favicons on my blog. You should all do it, I bark.

Well that was pretty short and sweet wasn’t it?

Some new pals (and a couple of not so new ones)

Now, I thought I would add a few more new pals partly because I forgot one of them on my last post (blush).

So first up is Harry who lives with a nice couple in the UK, who have rehomed lots of cats and dogs. Good on them we say. PippaPaw up for Harry’s peeps.

Harry’s blog

Next I would like to mention Africa and Nala, who aren’t actually new pals but they are beautiful and I always like to mention beautiful girls. Africa is a Boerboel (I tell ya that was difficult to spell) and Nala is a Ridgeback.

Africa’s blog

Nala’s blog

A couple of blogs that I have only discovered over the last few days are:

Georgia Little Pea is a Sydney dog, although not a little dog, looks a bit like a part Ridgie to us but anyway. Misery particularly likes their Sydney shots as she used to live there. Me, I prefer the dog shots. Did you all know it was Australia Day today? (26 Jan – it’s over there by now πŸ˜€ cos they are always ahead of the game in Aus)

Georgia’s blog

and

Arie is a white GSD. She is beautiful. Not sure I need to say more than that, but her person writes some interesting stuff and there are some great photos of Arie.

Arie’s blog

Those of you who read Rumpydog’s blog will have seen the super interview with the lovely boxer Benny, whose start in life wasn’t too good, but now he has found a loving home.

Benny’s blog

And finally, to placate JB who wanted me to write up new cat pals – I present Cat Mandu, a Himalayan cat – get the name? Clever huh. Misery wants everyone to know she has been to Katmandu. This is NOT your travel blog Misery. Oh, that reminds me, Mandu’s mom does have a travel blog which you can find on his. A bit like JB and her mom I guess.

Mandu’s blog

On with the Blogger/Wordpress comparison

Today’s feature is about keeping up and blogrolls. Partly inspired by a brief discussion I had with Fabulous Flo.

Firstly, I am NOT going to recommend Google Reader. I have no idea whether it is good, bad or indifferent, but I have just never used it. And some dog who shall be nameless (she knows who she is) has so many blogs on there that she has to keep pressing the delete updates button – or something like that.

When we first started blogging we did actually use Bloglines. But it kept messing about so we stopped using it. It is still around apparently but at a guess it will have lost out to GR. And of course, then Blogger updated the blog list functionality.

What I actually use is my blogroll on .. er .. Blogger. Yup, I might not be posting on there but the functionality of the B blogroll knocks spots off WP. It is easier to create, copy the url and click a button – shazzam! it’s done. No typing the name, the url, which link category, or any other fancy stuff – just simple.

You can arrange it alphabetically or by most recent update. I went for alphabetical, as then I knew where to find every pup, and also I like to work systematically through from A to Z or vice versa. At least that way, I get to make sure I visit every blog and not just the busiest ones.

What else? Well you can choose to include any or all of: an icon (favicon), title, snippet of item (text), thumbnail of item (photo), and of course, date of last update. I have everything except the snippet ticked.

I think this is one feature where Blogger totally beats WordPress. I mean look at my blogroll on here. A long boring list. No pix. No icons. No titles of posts. No times of latest updates. I started it thinking it would be similar to the Blogger one. I even (OK Misery did) wasted considerable time on trying to get images to show. There was a reason why they wouldn’t and I can’t remember what it was. I always wondered why WordPress blogs didn’t have blogrolls. Now I know. They are of no use.

But really WordPress. Pull up socks. This is one feature where you are totally outclassed. Unless anyone can tell me differently?? Does anyone actually use a WordPress blogroll? Does it serve for anything apart from clogging up the sidebar??

I think I will leave ‘following’ and subscriptions and stuffs for a later post.

34 comments on “Pippa’s annual review of 2011 (eventually)

  1. Sophie says:

    I am not on your blogroll, I see. What’s up with that Pippa Poo? Sure, I haven’t blogged in like two years, but still. I should be there, just cause. Filed under B, so I’m nearer the top. Or, under AAA Sophie Brador, so that I am at the very very top. But I’m not jealous or anything.

    xo
    SB

    • pippadogblog says:

      πŸ˜€ Damn. I’ll put you back you moaning Flirtador. I think it was cos you stopped blogging and whined about spam and well, you just weren’t there. I’m surprised I did actually. I must have had a rather feeble and stupid moment.

      Pippa xxxxxxxx

      PS not sure if you can use your twitter login as a login here? You can certainly use FB

    • pippadogblog says:

      Oh and did you rate your own post as excellent? πŸ˜€

  2. Sophie Brador says:

    P.S. You are so very handsome. Even when battle weary from the kitties.

  3. Chancy, Mumsy and Crew says:

    Hi, sweet Pippa! Nice to meet you. You sure are handsome. We have been reading all about you and we are so happy you found a loving forever home. We have also been reading your reviews we too have a blog on WP and Blogger. We do not like Blogger for the same reasons you mentioned. We left it once and are very near leaving it again. We sure do appreciate you dropping by and reading about Chancy. Hugs and nose kisses Chancy and Mumsy

    • pippadogblog says:

      Thank you Chancy and Mumsy. Not just reading about Chancy, need to keep my cat friends on here happy so they know I am multi-friendly. (Well I’m not really but we won’t get into that).

      I think the B v WP issue is very interesting and well worth everyone’s exploration. Don’t need to change but taking a look at other options is always good.

      Thank you for saying I am am handsome. I love to be told that πŸ™‚

  4. 2011 was a tough year in many ways. We are all looking forward now to the year of the dragon as we hear it is supposed to be a great one. We think a lot of us need a great one.

    We use Google Reader and are pretty happy with it. We used to be able to open the full blog right IN Google Reader, but Firefox doesn’t support that function any more so we have to open every blog in its own window to be able to comment. That’s the only negative we have, but we can deal with it.

    We hope 2012 is a very good and healthy one for you and your family, Pippa.

    Woos – Phantom, Thunder, Ciara, and Lightning

    • pippadogblog says:

      Hello one of my very favourite packs. Thanks for following me over to WP, I really love to hear from you all.

      I think the last few years have been tough, not just 2011. We are waiting for a good one too. OjΓ‘la. As us Spanish pups say (if only).

      Always worth sharing how different pups and their people keep updated and other useful info. Thanks for your comment re GR.

      We wish you the bestest year of the dragon tambien.

      Haroos to you all too.

  5. well, it’s a good thing you’re on my blogroll so i could see you had a new post! you list your blogroll exactly as i do mine πŸ™‚ i update my blogroll every month as blogfriends come and go. a bit rude perhaps, but that seems to be the only way for me to keep up with the regulars. no point keeping blogs that haven’t commented or posted in months or more on the blogroll, right?

    Georgia is indeed part ridgy. also part greyhound, part wolfhound and part great dane. her adoption papers actually just says wolfhound X. very succinct. but owners of the other breeds all see their dogs in her, and so do we now that we’ve had her for 3 years. she’s a pigdog [remember those from your Oz days?]. in fact she’s likely to specifically be a kangaroo dog. all too complicated for a MUTT, which is what we tell everyone when we get asked what she is ;p

    cheers from Sydney! i wouldn’t mind being in Spain. lots to love there πŸ™‚ x

    • pippadogblog says:

      I’ve taken some friends off in the past, but now I just leave them all up there. Because some do suddenly update out of nowhere. And it makes it look like I have a lot of friends πŸ˜€

      That’s it, I’m sure I read somewhere on the blog about her being wolfH X and we were thinking – there look to be other breeds in there. As there always are. Can’t remember knowing anyone with a dog in Aus – not a lot of call for pigdogs in King’s Cross πŸ˜‰

      Spain’s ok. Big country, wide open spaces, hot summers – hmmm, where does that remind us of??

      • pippadogblog says:

        Besides if I don’t include all my old friends, they start moaning like Sophie (La) Brador did up above!!

      • Tapas! You forgot tapas πŸ™‚ And Gaudi, whose works alone make it worthwhile to live there.

        The summer here this year is a fizzle. Stay where you are!

        There are pigdogs everywhere these days, mostly because they get chucked into the pound. Being biggish and somewhat tough looking, they can be hard to place 😦 personally, I love them. Georgia is our 2nd.

        • pippadogblog says:

          Tapas are cool. Misery likes to make her own tapas. Usually for breakfast!! Gaudi is up north though 😦 Misery put an interesting geocaching post up about a sort of Gaudi-esque monument thing in Andalucia – check out geocaching and Sayalonga on one of her boring blogs – itchyfeet or roughseas (same post anyway).

          Big dogs are always hard to place 😦 I know.

  6. Anonymous says:

    Sorry to hear that you’ve been under the weather. Hope you’re feeling better!

  7. Ralph says:

    Sounds like you’ve been having a hard time, between ticks and bad cats. I hope you’re feeling better! Thanks for the update and I hope that you and your family have a wonder 2012!

    Big Dog Ralph

    • pippadogblog says:

      Thanks Ralph – yes it did make for slightly gloomy reading! it wasn’t that bad though really, just a few health probs that I haven’t had before.

  8. Cat Mandu says:

    Pippa, I am so sad to see those scratch marks on your nose. I am so sorry that happened!
    Thank you so much for mentioning me on your blog (and also my Mom;s travel blog). You are a sweet dog. Where do you live in Spain? Mom used to live in Andalucia.
    Mandu

    • pippadogblog says:

      Thank you Mandu, I am tough. As tough as those pesky cats. I think.

      As for the blogs, we like to share new friends with everyone. It’s important to keep finding new friends, and sharing the good ones that have super photos, (especially your mom’s travel blog – I’ll get Misery to mention it on her boring old blog) and interesting stories. Or whatever.

      Yes, we are in AndalucΓ­a too. I’ll pop over to your blog.

  9. Hi Pippa. It sure was good to hear from you. Mommy talked to Roxie’s idle Mom last night and then she talked to Roxie. I gave her your love and she said some day her Mom might start blogging again. She said to make sure to send you some {{{huggies}}}. So here’s some from both of us.

    Love your yearly update.

    {{{huggies}}}……Mona & Roxie

  10. pippadogblog says:

    Thanks Mona – and hugs back to you and Roxie πŸ™‚

  11. Hey, Pippa, we keep hoping Blogger never decides to close us for not doing anything wrong like they’ve been doing to so many others – like you. You mentioned phone # and not email. So did you have to give someone’s CELL (MOBILE) number in order to get your blog reinstated, or your home phone number? Cause we keep seeing they demand someone’s cell phone #, even if you have to give out your friend’s to Google. Which we consider so wrong that if they close us down, we won’t be able to get our blog reinstated. No cell phone. 😦

    Glad you’re settling in on WordPress and still able to enjoy some Blogger.

    • Thansk Jan
      Sorry Pippa hasn’t had chance to get near to reply as I have been too busy blogging πŸ˜€
      Yes I did have to give out a mobile number – despite the fact that I sent three – unacknowledged – emails over the course of the evening to their support desk. My partner got sick of it in the end and told me to use his.
      I think it is totally wrong, and to this day I’ve had zilch info about what was allegedly wrong. I’m sure it had nothing to do with the fact that I never fill out the blogger/google request for a mobile number in case of security issues (or whatever they call it). Much.
      Always happy to visit other bloggers, but I’ve spent the weekend importing most of my other stuff to WP now.
      Paws crossed you don’t have any probs with blogger.

  12. A most excellent and informative post, Pippa. So much to process!

    Gracias for your comment on the Vidock Vendredi post. #1 says, rather shame-facedly, that she doesn’t know how to post photos so they “biggify”. Can you tell her the secret?

    Woofs,
    Tommy

  13. Have sorted mail if you want to resend πŸ™‚

  14. Well, that some dog didn’t find Blogger’s ‘roll to be furry useful – plus The GR doesn’t make me share all the blogs ‘we’ subskhribe to –

    We do have our blogs in a WordPress entity BUT we used up our khubbyhole with them during our import and we do not feel the desire to pay them greenpaper$ for more $torage SO we’ll probably stay with Booger πŸ˜‰

    Hugz&Khysses,
    TSD
    PeeEssWoo: *SIGH! SO FURRY HANDSOME!*

    • pippadogblog says:

      Gosh Khyra, that must be one of the down sides of blogging every day and posting lots of pix and vids. You won’t be surprised to hear that I am nowhere near the storage capacity thing. I must write a note about the difference as Suzy originally asked me that one as well.

  15. Kasha says:

    You are unbelievably kind. I came here to thank you again for helping out our business and then what do I see? A little mention of our Africa. I hope Spain is treating you well, because you sure deserve the best of everything. I myself would like a little snooze in your spinach patch. Sorry about the snose and the tick disease Pippa darling. Much love from us-
    Kasha and Africa

    • pippadogblog says:

      Wasn’t sure which one of you wants to come in the spinach patch with me, but you are both more than welcome. There’s not enough room for us all so we will have to curl up together very tightly. I am in my Gibflat right now because Master is busy working 😦 Thank you for you lovely comments.

Thank you for any comment. Please check back next time you visit, as I like to reply to all barks, woos, and mews

