Poorly Pippa

Happy New Year everypup. I hope you all had lovely holidays or howlidays if that is how you bark. Not that I ever bark, apart from when it is breakfast time, but it is always more of a Ha-Roooooo than anything else. Today it was a Haroo followed by a RUFF!

Now I like to do a review of the past year. Misery does one on her blog so I should get to do one as well I think. But as I’ve not posted much this year there is nothing to review. Sad Pippadog.

Instead I shall tell you about my poorlinesses. I didn’t tell you when I was very poorly, but I am feeling better enough now to say a little bit. But not much, Misery can write vast boring reams about it on her blog for anyone interested in techy detail. Or in this case, ticky detail. Haha!! I hope Ammy likes my joke.

Last month I was feeling a bit listless, but one day, I really couldn’t be bothered to go anywhere. I didn’t even want to go down the stairs to go out in the mornings. Not even to chase cats.

Poorly me on my sofa

Master and Misery were so concerned that she even got out of bed early, and they bundled me into my Land Rover before 8am and we shot off to see my nice vet, Pedro. I had only seen him the previous week for my jabs and I seemed ok then.

Pedro gently felt me, and said I had some pain. Clever Pedro. While I was lying on the floor with my head flopped in Master’s hands, Pedro and his assistant took some blood from my front paw (just like Skye had at her vet’s), and then they cut some of my toenails.

We had to go back in a couple of days time for the results of the blood test but in the meantime, Pedro gave Misery some painkillers for me. Previcox. I can recommend those to everypup. They are chewy and taste of caramel and smoke.

My cocktail cabinet

When we went back to see Pedro I was already feeling a bit better, but he gave me some more painkillers, and some new tablets. I wasn’t very keen on those, they don’t taste nice. They were called doxycyclin. He hadn’t got all the test results through but he told Misery I needed one of each every day. A couple of days later he emailed us and said that the test for erlichia canis was positive. I had very high readings of this and Misery had to double the dose of the little yellow doxycyclin tablets for me.

I have erlichiosis. It is a nasty tick disease. I will say no more except that I am still eating those nasty tablets for the next few weeks to try and get rid of the horrid organism and its effects. I will let you know when Misery writes about it, and you can read all the ticky detail then.

Not having my photo taken. Don’t like nasty tablets

Here is something more interesting. We all went geocatzing to Comares before I was poorly. Master and I decided to admire the view while Mistress was sent off to hunt for the geocache. Master thought there might be catz near the castle so that’s why we didn’t go. I must say that puzzled me, I thought the whole point of these expeditions was to find catz. Geocatz or otherwise.

Here I am standing and thoughtfully sending out radar to detect nearby catz

Yes! I found one. I would have had him too but Master didn’t want to go diving under the car with me. So we set off back for my Landy to avoid anymore catz. But on the way down, I found another one and nearly had him too. Mistress didn’t find her cache. I found two catz but didn’t get them. I think my expedition was the most successful though.

[They went back on New Year’s Day without me and found the real cache. Master did anyway, Misery was her usual useless self. She reported back that there were no catz around – huh, a likely tale]

Back in Gib again and feeling better after my tabs.

One of my nice Christmas cards with doggies on

Looking for my friends – the monkeys

2 comments on “Poorly Pippa

  1. barb19 says:

    I’m glad your vet got onto it quickly and found out what was making you so poorly. Nasty ticks – we have them here too and I always have to check my little Shih-Tzu for them.

Thank you for any comment. Please check back next time you visit, as I like to reply to all barks, woos, and mews

