Snowy goes to town

I have been busy tracking our new harnesses via the ParcelForce website. A strange message came up. They tried to deliver our parcel yesterday and if we don’t arrange to have it redelivered it will be returned to the UK.

Um, I think what they really mean is that it has been delivered to customs and Misery will need to go and collect it today or tomorrow but clearly ParcelForce doesn’t have an option for that one. She also needs to buy her half a dozen Christmas cards (I wish the Gib SPCA sold cards or if they do we’ve never seen them), book an MoT for my Landy, sort our insurances and various other bits and pieces. However, I am pleased to see she is was keeping up to my blog. For once. Next post will have the Pippa review of our new harnies and leads.

Little rat is trying to eat my breakfast.  No chance Little One

Little rat is trying to eat my breakfast. No chance Little One

Anyway, on with the tales from our first reunited weekend together.

September 2013

Snowy’s Diary – 6 – Ouch! and, I am Podenco

The next day started out well. I went out without BFD into the big rumbling thing. It was fun. Up and down the dirt track we went and into town. To see someone called Pedro.

Pedro said I was chulo and made soppy noises. Then he said I was a Podenco Albino and I was very rare. Rarissimo in fact. How special am I?

Podencos are Spanish and Portuguese hunting dogs. We are a very old breed descended from greyhounds in North Africa. We were brought to the Iberian peninsula (and the Balearics) firstly by Carthaginians and then later by the Moors.

LW’s Observer Book of Dogs refers to the Ibizan Podenco and says:

“It has maintained a high degree of purity and is valued as a hunter and watch dog.”

Does hunting toes count?

“Two Ibizan Podencos were shown at Crufts in 1929.”

Her Blandford Book of Dogs says some Podencos have been crossed with local sheepdogs. But when she asked Pedro if I was cruzado (cross breed), he said, no, I was Podenco puro.

So there we have it. I have a distinguished heritage, and should grow up to be medium sized (Pedro told us there are small, medium and large Podencos), fast and with a racy body. I reflect my local environment. We have Carthaginian ruins just a short walk away, and, all around us in the fields with Moorish terracing, the town names, the architecture, are reminders of when Andalucía was part of the Moorish caliphate.

Then Nice Man and I went into a back room and LW hung around in the front uselessly. OUCH! I yelped in my loudest puppy voice. What was that? Nasty jabs for puppies. NM carried me back out and LW did strokies. Wimp. Her, not me.

There was lots of paperwork. I got bored and peed. LW dashed into the clinicy bit for kitchen towel and wiped it up. She asked for a mop but Pedro said they would do that. I was proud of my peepee. It went straight down on the floor and not over NM who was still holding me. Wasn’t that clever of me? It could have been a woman’s fault as she came over to stroke me. Pretty puppy me.

Anyways, it seems I am a strong puppy in good health with good bones. And although albinos often have sensory problems I have good hearing and good eyesight. I need to be careful in the sun though and not spend too much time outside when it is hot unless I am in the shade. My people wonder if I was thrown out because I am albino. It’s not nice to throw dogs out because you don’t like the look of them. When Nice Man was in the clinicy bit with Pedro, Peds said I wasn’t found outside the bin – I was inside it for two days!! Whether I was outside for five days or inside for two days, someone thought I was rubbish :( So a big X to Rocío for taking me in.

Pedro said if I had survived my first few days and not picked up any nasties that I was pretty tough and after my first set of jabs (for parvo) I could go out on the street.

LW had already bought a tiny harness for me when she got my horrid worming tablet, so that we (ie me) could practise wearing it. So next she bought a lead. They are both blue and look rather dapper against my snowy white fur.

September 2013

Snowy’s Diary – 7 – The travelling Podenco

I was having a fine weekend. Apart from the OUCH! jab.

Buenos días, Big Furry Dog

Buenos días, Big Furry Dog

Can I help you Pippa?

Can I help you Pippa?

I played and played with BFD and he stole my toys I let him play with my toys. He is meant to give me education, but he didn’t know how to play with toys properly so I showed him. And then he ripped my big piece of cane in half and took my plantpot to chew. He is a nice dog though and I am keeping an eye on his gate in his absence.

Good mates with Big Furry Dog - or maybe he's hiding my toy under his paw?

Good mates with Big Furry Dog – or maybe he’s hiding my toy under his paw?

Page_3

Sunday was a very busy day. I discovered how to dig to Australia.

My people have been there so I thought I would go too now I have my own passport. I thought digging would be cheaper than flying or sailing. But every time I started LW brushed all my work back. I think it will take me a long time to get there. Next, BFD decided to stop me going by lying in the way.

A bit later it was time to practise on the terrace with my harny and my new lead. But NM and BFD were going out so we all went out together. Such fun! But everyone has much longer legs than I have so I had to run to keep up. We went miles and miles and miles. I think. [Pippadog: a ten minute walk up the back – a few hundred yards]

Off I go, sooooo exciting - my very first walk

Off I go, sooooo exciting – my very first walk

Later we went out again. I could like this. So many smells. So much to see. A puppy’s life is such fun when you get past the rubbish bin.

Dirty Snowy. Why didn’t you wash your face before you went to bed?

Dirty Snowy. Why didn’t you wash your face before you went to bed?

Note from Pippadog editor:

Podencos are often abandoned at one or two years old. Because they are used for hunting in their early years when they are young and fast, once they are past their usefulness, they are chucked out. And presumably, some new ones take their place, and so continues the cycle of abandoned dogs.

23 comments on “Snowy goes to town

  1. Andrew says:

    Snowy bears a striking resemblance to Piglet in Winnie the Pooh. I just thought I’d mention that apropos of nothing.

    • pippadogblog says:

      I have no idea about Piglet, Misery had a vague remembrance so she looked him up in the library yesterday. She agrees that you and Master (who did remember Piglet) are possibly correct.

  2. I like your new blue harness or as you Mom/Mama/ Mistress/Misery wrote it’s a harnie? Anyway, Snowy I almost wrote a month or so ago that I thought you are an albino and that is probably why you were put in the trash. But I was afraid Misery would take offense. I must say though that you are one good looking dog and the bastards that thew you in the trash bin deserve to be put in jail. Of course the law doesn’t do anything much over here in the US so it likely the same where you live. It was your lucky day when you were found by a compassionate person.

    • pippadogblog says:

      Well, they never call anything by their proper names so it seems they are harnies as it is easier to say than harness. I liked it too, I thought I looked so smart but it broke :(

      Misery does not take offence about the truth. She only takes offence about bastards who dump dogs in rubbish bins. There is a new cruelty law in Andalucía. Ha!

      Yes, many dogs are not as lucky as me.

      Thank you Yvonne ~

      Snowy

      • So nice to get a reply from you, Snowy. Aah that is a shame that your harnie broke. Hopefully you will get a new one. I’ve never used a harnie on any of my dogs. They are doing good to get a decent collar. ANd some of the dogs really need new collars now but money is short.

        Yes, the cruelty laws are a joke here in the states. Bastards get off the hook with little or no jail time after posting bond. The law/s in essence are mainly useless.

        Take care Snowy and learn good things from Pippa Dog.

        ~Yvonne

        • pippadogblog says:

          The problem with the harnie was that it broke in Gibraltar on a busy street but luckily we were cutting through a car park, so Misery managed to get hold of me and take me home safely.

          As we don’t have any ground we need to go out for our walks and we are both pully dogs, harnies are much better for us. Unless you need to take your animals out, they don’t need a lead and collar/harnie do they?

          Misery reads a depressing site called Stop Animal Abuse. Sometimes there are a few happy stories on there. But she thinks if she wants to support animal rights and write about it, she needs to know what is going on so that she can sometimes tell other less-informed people who want to stick their selfish heads in the sand.

          Thank you for you reply to me Yvonne. I keep trying for my own log-in but they seem to think I am too mischievous for now.

          Love Snowy x

  3. The OP Pack says:

    Merry Christmas to Pippa and Snowy and your humans from all of us.

    Woos – Phantom, Ciara, and Lightning and Mom

  4. pix & kardz says:

    merry Christmas Pippa and Snowy, and to your persons too. ymmg (= you made me google) and i saw many photos of all sorts of Podencos. such a distinguished-looking breed. and a very intelligent and active one! Snowy will ensure that nobody has a bout of boredom in the days, months and years to come!
     
    what a wonderful story you are sharing – although after you were digging your way to Australia, Snowy, you were not looking so much like an albino anymore :)
     
    Timmy wants to assure Snowy, however, that cats were meant to be admired and respected, and not chased. somehow Pippa has not quite grasped that one yet :)

    • pippadogblog says:

      Thank you p&k. I have been internetting for a while you know, I did understand ymmg. You have used it before. Misery found a fine podenco website which she may post at some point. Pawsonfully I think GSD/husky websites are more interesting.

      Dirty dog digging up the garden. I have corrected the last photo too so you can see he went to bed with a dirty face.

      I must point out that cats have one reason for their existence however, and it is for me to chase them. That is not negotiable. If silly Snowy chooses to spend his time killing flies and wasps and butterflies that is up to him. I don’t think there is much hope for him in the cat stakes. Total disinterest to date.

  5. We have read all about the horrible fate of many podencos in Spain and the efforts made to rescue them. Snowy, in a way you were lucky to be rescued so young so you won’t have to go through all that nasty stuff.

    MERRY CHRISTMAS to all of you!

    Woofs,
    Tommy et al

    • pippadogblog says:

      I think there are too many Podencos for rescue societies to save. I understand some of them make their way to France along with Gallegos.

      Thank you Tommy, we hope you and all your pack had a wonderful Christmas and new year.

  6. TBM says:

    Merry Christmas and Happy New Year! I love seeing Snowy next to Pippa. Such a huge size difference it’s adorable!

    • pippadogblog says:

      Hello TBM, thank you for that, we have had a lovely holiday. We do look funny together, he wouldn’t look so small if I wasn’t so big :D

  7. Totty says:

    Pippa, I am so happy to see you have adopted a Podenco; they are the best dogs ever (after Pippadogs of course).

    • pippadogblog says:

      I am pleased you added that last bit. Master and Misery seem to be quite fascinated by the Rat. Something about feisty, intelligent, cute, loyal, guard dog, and goodness knows what else. Silly little Rat is all I have to say.

  8. Khyra says:

    What a ‘special’ gift…or something like that!

    Hugz&Khysses,
    Khyra

  9. Happy New Year, Pippa! Awwww, Snowy is so cute! You have the best mate ever!
    Momo & Pinot xo

  10. Vicky says:

    I can’t believe I haven’t commented on here :eek:
    Fabulous pics too :-)
    Little Snowy you’re growing bigger each new photo I see, but you’ve a long way to go to catch the Big Furry One.
    Pippa, you handsome hairy boy, I’m sending you a virtual nuzzle :-)

    • pippadogblog says:

      Never mind Vicky, I am sure you have been busy. Unlike lazy Misery.

      I wouldn’t say pix of the Rat are good, and please don’t tell Misery her photos are any good, it will go to her head. The only fabulous ones are the ones with ME on. Snowy will never catch up with me, hehe.

      Thank you for the nuzzle, you can sit on my sofa any time :)

  11. Sonel says:

    Sitting here with a huge smile, reading about Snowy’s ‘digging adventures’. What a cutie! :D
    I am so glad he found a home with all of you. Love the photo’s! They are so beautiful and the comic is the best one. You’re a star Pippa. I would just hug you up! LOL!

    ♥ Big Hugs ♥ to all. :D

Thank you for any comment. Please check back next time you visit, as I like to reply to all barks, woos, and mews

