Me – and more of the Rat

Thank you to everyone who has said they want to see pictures of me on my blog. I have decided to put my pic at the beginning of the post and not the end. So here I am. Not only is Little Rat not on the photo, but I have total possession of The Toy.

Eating Little Rat's toy

Eating Little Rat’s toy

Anyway, having stamped my authority over my blog, the Little Rat can now post some more excerpts from his diaries.

August 2013

Snowy’s Diary – 2 – Let sleeping puppies lie

Puppies need to sleep. The limping woman has a fine lap. It is puppy sized. And she strokes me too. Nice.

Laptime - naptime

Laptime – naptime

And the other way around

And the other way around

Chairs will also do

Chairs will also do

Shoulders are good too

Shoulders are good too

And arms

And arms

A bit more about me. The nice man decided to call me Snowy because I am all white. My Spanish neighbours call me Copito (de nieve). Little snowflake. I have two names. Isn’t that impressive? In fact I had another as Rocío called me Poncho. Poncho? What sort of name is that? Can you image someone calling for their Poncho? It’s like calling for trousers or for a shirt. Snowy or Little Snowflake are much more me I think.

I have green eyes. Perhaps they will become brown. For now they are pretty. I have nice sharp teeth. After all I am a puppy. And I am very good at worrying. Towels, rugs, toys, anything really. I think Pippa (the big furry dog) is too big for me to worry but maybe we could go on a worrying expedition together. Cats. Rats. Who knows.

The world is our worrying oyster.

Let me up onto your lap, I am your little green-eyed dog

Let me up onto your lap, I am your little green-eyed dog

September 2013

Snowy’s Diary – 3 – From Snowflake to Rat

One morning limping woman woke up at 5am. We sat outside on the terrace together. It was warm, tranquil, peaceful. She put our outside light on because the street lights weren’t working. She wonders why she pays her contribución for council services.

Trying to take off her bandage

Trying to take off her bandage

On my terrace. Not at 5am but you get the idea

On my terrace. Not at 5am but you get the idea

After an hour we went back inside. I didn’t go to my patio den, I went to my den in her bedroom, and a little while later, I went to the rug on the other side of her bed. I like rugs. You can lie on them, chew them, and tug them.

My bedroom den. Note, the door is not closed on my den, I go there when I want, if I want

My bedroom den. Note, the door is not closed on my den, I go there when I want, if I want

Kitchen rug

Kitchen rug

Playing on my rug

Playing on my rug

At 9.30am she woke up and took me outside. [Pippadog: Lazy toerag isn’t she? Master had been working for an hour and a half by then. And he’d taken me out and fed me.] I think I am getting her trained as the first thing she does when she wakes up is to take me out. After all, she can wait and I can’t.

Some of her friends have told her that goats milk is good for puppies. Plenty of goats here but no milk for sale as it all goes off to the big dairy factories. So she bought me some queso de cabra (fresco). It is lip-licking yummy. I get a tiny helping with my lunch. But it seems to have gone very quickly. I am sure I haven’t eaten that much. Perhaps SOME PERSON has been raiding it.

Last week I weighed 2lbs and 13ozs. My first week in my new home. Now in my second week I weigh an extra pound. 3lbs and 13ozs. Soon she won’t be able to weigh me on the kitchen scales as they only go up to 4lbs.

She has stopped calling me Little Rat and now calls me Fat Rat. I prefer Snowy or Copito or Little Snowflake. Much nicer names. I am NOT a rat. Even if I am small, and white and have sharp teeth.

I am not fat am I?  It's just the angle created by the bad photographer

I am not fat am I? It’s just the angle created by the bad photographer

27 comments on “Me – and more of the Rat

  1. Pippa!! We’ve been wondering about you. You got a little sib while our lazy mom never help us to visit you. What a cute little one!!! True, we would prefer to be called Snowy, not Poncho. Yap, you don’t want to be part of your wardrobes.

    Momo & Pinot xo

    • pippadogblog says:

      Hi Cavs

      How are you both, and your hu bro too?

      Well, my lazy person failed to keep up to my blog and then when Snowy arrived in August, she had to stay in Spain for three months to wait for all his jabs to be completed before he could come to Gib. So now we’re catching up with his diaries, which she helped him write in Spain using Ye Olde Fashionede Pencil and Paper. Hopefully we’ll be up to date by Christmas and then we can post about what we are not doing now. Mostly sleeping and fighting over toys.

      Lovely to hear from you both.

      Pippa

  2. Iquitoz says:

    Hi Pippa,

    Nice to see that Snowy allowed you to posts a picture of yourself on your own blog. 😋
    And Snowy, enjoy it whiles you can. You will have to start earning your keeps in a couple of months. A Fat Rat? How about contented pups? Need to use your sharps teeth on limping lady more oftens for that comment.
    Nuzzles and licks, Suzy.

    • pippadogblog says:

      Suzys, a bi haroo to you

      I know, such a pain having a little rat demanding attention, but still, I am a calm and serene dog and I don’t mind him enjoying his puppyhood.

      Snows did catch a fly, so we were impressed with that. Not something I have ever done.

      He can bite her all he likes with those razors but it is still my blog and I am retaining editorial control and that includes comments.

      Hopes you are wells Suzys.

  3. All righty then. Nice to get your perspective on the little rat, Pippadog. I’m so glad that you are looking well and quite handsome. You are a gentleman for letting the Little Rat post on your blog.

    Oh then Snowy, which I have to agree, is a more suitable name for you. Little rat is not befitting a puppy as handsome as you. And I believe that I read you are now in your real home over the way in Gib as your master calls the country. I’ll bet you will be the hit of the “hood.” But please do not grow up to be a cat chaser and a cat killer. That shows a very undesirable lack of class for a puppy of your upbringing.

    So long for now and hope to read more of your diary. The diary is cute and funny. :-)

    • pippadogblog says:

      The Rat is OK really. It’s my people who call him Little Rat. Or Fat Rat. I am not a gentleman, although I am a gentledog, but even Misery can’t manage yet another blog for snowy. Anyway, half the posts are about both of us.

      As Snowy and I are both rubbish cast-off dogs from Spain, we consider both countries our homes. More people like ME in Gib, but the Snows is more popular in Spain.

      He does not seem to be interested in cats. I am most disappointed about that.

      Snowy says thank you for your comments about his diary. He has worked quite hard at it, so I think it only fair to let him have his puppy say.

      Bye bye Yvonne, hasta la proxima

      Pippa

  4. Vicky says:

    Pippa.
    You are being very understanding sharing your blog with ratdog Snowy dog. He does sound a nice little fella, but I know what you mean as I also have Her Royal  Ratness my mums Yorkie living with me at the moment.
    Snowy.
    I think the name Snowflake is wonderful, I bet you’ve melted quite a few hearts.
    You do look very cute in all your sleepy positions, but I bet you won’t be curling up on mistresses shoulder and arms when you’ve become a big boy, so make the most of it while you can.
    I do hope that’s not Pippa’s rug you’ve commandeered, you must respect the big furry and his belongings at all times.

    • pippadogblog says:

      Vicky!! Hello Vicky :)

      Well, he’s not getting his own blog, as I would never get any posts written, and once he’s written up his diary posts we can get back to me writing most of them :)

      Misery says Snowy is a good ‘calling’ name though, whatever that means. She seems to think two syllables works well. Sometimes she calls him Snowy Snowy. I of course don’t get Pippa Pippa, I get Pippa Darling :)

      I don’t think he is going to be a big boy. Not as big as me anyway. Misery has told me I can climb on her lap if I want but I don’t think it is big enough.

      The rug. Yes, it is mine. I have allowed him to use it when I am not around in return for guarding my gate. However he knows to let me have first choice of position on my return and to give up all his toys to me immediately. I think we have reached an understanding.

      Pippa

  5. Snowy – you are very cute and you must be very tiny to weigh only 3 lbs. How could she possibly call you a fat rat. Mom loves your tummy – rub-adub-dub:)

    Pippa – great to see you here too. Next time give us even more.

    Woos – Phantom, Ciara, and Lightning

    • pippadogblog says:

      Hello Woos, how lovely to see you all again. I remember when Ciara was the cutest little puppy ever. It’s a shame there were no abandoned husky pups in Spain, or even cross huskies like me, but you don’t see a lot of them, so we ended up with the rat Snowy.

      He did have a bit of a puppy tummy when he was lying down, but now he has grown up quite a lot and is quite leggy, and quite strong too.

      I have tried to be nice to the rat and let him prattle on about his new life with us, but I see I shall have to add some more Pippa info.

      Woos to you all too, Pippa

      • Pippa forgot to add, don’t forget that Snowy was only 4 or 5 weeks old when we got him because he had been dumped. He shouldn’t really have been away from his mama, hence he was so tiny – there were pics of him looking even smaller on the previous post. Podencos are also a light breed anyway as they are descended from greyhounds. But still, yes, 3lbs was pretty tiny.

  6. TBM says:

    Nice meeting you Pippa. Snowy is pretty cute, but make sure you put the little bugger in his place :

    • pippadogblog says:

      Thank you TBM, encantado to meet you too. Snowy is OK, but I think your advice is pretty sound so I will do my best.

      I will get my Misery Person to keep an eye on your blogs to see if you post any pix of your dog and I will come over and have a sniff when you do.

      • TBM says:

        Miles makes an appearance, but I have to warn you, so does my cat, Atticus. Not sure how you feel about cats.

        • pippadogblog says:

          I like cats very much. I like to chase them very much indeed. I used to have a nice ginger one live near me called Harvey and he would stalk me and I would try and escape to chase him. But then he moved. Such a shame. My people thought he wanted to be friends with me. Ha! As if. However I look forward to seeing Miles, and even Atticus if he plays at running away.

  7. Pippa – Molly is thrilled to see you. As handsome as ever.So wise of you to test toys for the little one. Copito will be good to warm the rug for you this winter? He looks like the little kid who runs wildly, then falls over sound asleep.
    Lucky for Snowy you are there to watch over him. What a great pair the two of you will make when he’s a little older: he, the bug snatcher, and you the cat grabber.

    • pippadogblog says:

      I am always thrilled to peek over Misery’s shoulder and see photos of Molly and The German too. I think he needs to play with toys in moderation which is why I need to remove them from him all the from time to time. Not much chance of him warming enough rug for me, he’s far too small. Spends most of his time curled up to me for warmth, pix of that later.

      It will be useful if he manages to hunt the flies and the cockies. And leaves the cats to me. We can share any rats I suppose.

  8. Well, perhaps a little plump, then? You certainly seem to be settling in very well, little Copito!

    Way to go with that toy, Pippa!

    Woofs,
    Tommy

    • pippadogblog says:

      Little Copito is definitely fat in my humble PippaOpinion. Or was. His legs seem to have doubled in length so he is like a gawky adolescent now. They are thinking of renaming him Tigger as he seems to be made out of rubber and spring at the moment.

      I annex all his toys from time to time, just so he knows who is in charge.

  9. pix & kardz says:

    good to see you front and centre, Pippa. where you belong. and at the same time, good of you to share space for Snowy’s story. he is adorable. i really like the name Copito, and Vicky has taken the words out of my mouth. i little heart-melter he is. and growing up big and strong. that’s always good news!
     
    thanks for sharing. :)

    • pippadogblog says:

      Thank you p&k, I quite agree that it is important to have me up front, and also that I am so nice for letting Little Rat write up his early memories. However I would not describe him as adorable, a nuisance but sometimes fun to play with when I get to steal his toys and put his small head in my mouth (bit difficult to fit the huge ears in as well though).

      Misery is too lazy to call him Copito as it has one more syllable than Snowy. I don’t know why they don’t just call him Rat. My Spanish neighbour is disappointed that they don’t call him Copito more often because when she calls to him over the wall he ignores her :D

      He better not grow up too big and strong, I need to be the biggest and strongest – and most handsome – in this pack.

  10. Skye says:

    My darling Pippa,
    So wonderful to see your handsome self at the start of the blog…definitely as it should be! I just wanted to remind you that chat is tomorrow morning (well, morning HERE) I hope you can stop in. I will have buttered toast and get the couch so we can snuggle together. Dreaming sweet dreams of you, my darling Pippa.

    All my love,
    your Skye

  11. EllaDee says:

    It’s been a while since I had a puppy or dog in my life, so it’s lovely to see see pics of both you Pippa, and Snowy… and hear how the early days of Snowy went :)

    • pippadogblog says:

      Thank you Ella Dee, you are so kind. It’s a while since Misery and Master had a puppy, only their first one was a real puppy so Misery had to relearn pretty quickly when she was left alone at the finca with Snowy.

Thank you for any comment. Please check back next time you visit, as I like to reply to all barks, woos, and mews

